Doug Price feted by mayor

Leader of local tourism bureau is honored with the Spirit of the Springs award
News  /  News

Doug Price, left, with Mayor John Suthers (Photo courtesy city of Colorado Springs)

Noting Doug Price’s dozen years at the helm of Visit Colorado Springs, among other contributions, Mayor John Suthers bestowed the Spirit of the Springs Celebration Award today (March 22) during a surprise presentation at the agency’s annual business meeting.

Price was a founding member of the Olympic City USA Task Force and played an integral role in launching the city’s Olympic City USA brand in 2015.

Suthers also acknowledged Price for focusing on “creating sustained economic growth and enhancing civic pride,” the city said in a release.

Price, for example, was an advocate for the City for Champions projects, which include Weidner Field, the U.S. Olympic & Paralympic Museum, the Hybl Sports Medicine Center at the University of Colorado Colorado Springs, Robson Arena at Colorado College, and the relocation and expansion of the U.S. Air Force Academy Gateway Visitor Center.

“Doug’s visionary leadership has helped bolster a tourism ecosystem that ranks Colorado Springs as a top travel destination,” Suthers said of Price in a release, “and his steadfast support and advocacy for Olympic City USA and the successful City for Champions projects has helped create positive momentum for the city.”

Price has served as Visit Colorado Springs’s CEO since 2011. Before that, he was senior vice president for professional development at Destinations International and had an 18-year career with Marriott.

“With more than 35 years of leadership experience in sales and professional development, Price is well known for bringing together key stakeholders and decision makers on initiatives that promote and sustain the Pikes Peak Region, and through his professional and volunteer efforts he has helped to foster an internationally recognized sports industry in Colorado Springs,” the city’s release said.

The Spirit of the Springs awards, inaugurated by former Mayor Steve Bach and continued by Suthers, recognize exceptional contributions or outstanding achievements.

Past winners:


Doug Price – Celebration Award

John Register – Inspirational Leader Award



Heba Abdelaal – Celebration Award

Michelle and David Fein – Celebration Award

Cathy Matthews-Kane – Celebration Award

Dewey Reinhard – Celebration Award

Richard Skorman – Celebration Award

COS I Love You – inaugural Keep it Clean Spirit of the Springs winner

Lyda Hill – Lifetime Achievement



Jen Furda – Celebration Award

Shirley Martinez – Celebration Award

Carol & John O’Donnell – Celebration Award

Michael Pach – Celebration Award

Deborah Thornton – Celebration Award

Sherry VonRiesen – Celebration Award

Mary Lou Makepeace – Lifetime Achievement



Robin Johnson – Celebration Award

Dr. Leon Kelly – Celebration Award

Susan Wheelan – Celebration Award

Bill Hybl – Lifetime Achievement



Chris Barnhart – Celebration Award

Sharon Milito – Celebration Award

Kathy Loo – Lifetime Achievement



Maile Gray – Celebration Award

Dave Munger – Inspirational Leader Award

Chuck Murphy – Lifetime Achievement



Cathy Post – Celebration Award

Ralph Routon – Celebration Award

Mary Ellen McNally – Lifetime Achievement



Dr. Derek Hurst

Michael Hagiwara

Kelly Hayes

Cathy Stark

Bridget Holisky & Carmella Vega

Harry Hoth – Lifetime Achievement



George Fellows – Lifetime Achievement

If so, we'd love for you to share it with your friends and followers! Sharing this article can help spread valuable information and spark important conversations. Simply click a share button below!